🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What's the success of MOBA's and MMORPG's?

Started by
12 comments, last by cozzie 8 years, 9 months ago

Hi guys,

As a 'novice' RPG player, I'm studying RGP game development/ design. For this I've also played a bit around with League of Legends and also did some research on other titles:

- Heroes of the Storm

- Dota 2

- Dota (Warcraft 3 mod)

What do you think is the reason for the big success of these games? (with double digits millions of players)

Some thoughts:

- the addiction to increase yourself

- the fun to play with other 'non-CPU' players

- freedom to live another life in an online fantasy universe

Any thoughts?

I also notice that the terms MOBA, ARTS and MMORPG are used interchangably (and are also based on interpretation and perception).

Note: I don't tend to insult all the great game developers who make these games, and I truly believe that the titles have their differences (if I would dive in a bit deeper to find out).

Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me

Advertisement

MMORPG is most definately NOT used interchangably with the others, at least i've never (literally not once) heard them used interchangably by another playing either or both and i've been a heavy mmo gamer since well, early (kunark) everquest more than 15 years ago.

Very very low for MMORPG, 10 years have passed and and still (ok not currently) play only World of Warcraft everything else is just crap to me.
I think there was a movie about why WoW is so successful(social experience + cool boss fights).