Advertisement

C++ Game Development Opportunities for Programmers with other programming Language Experience

Started by October 17, 2024 12:05 PM
7 comments, last by yababasan 1 day, 8 hours ago

I am an experienced Python developer and have been working on personal projects using C++. I'm eager to transition into the game development industry by leveraging my C++ skills. Are game studios still hiring C++ game developers, particularly for junior or entry-level positions (Maybe mid level, considering previous experience in other languages and industries)?

I am also very interested in custom game engines. If there is any pointing for guiding for that direction, it would be great!

morenorarthur said:
If there is any pointing for guiding for that direction, it would be great!

You should read the stickied posts atop this forum (Games Career Development), for starters. Do you have a game portfolio yet? If not, that should be your second step - make some games and publish a portfolio. Thirdly, your location is important. Do you live near any game companies? Have you checked into https://gamedevmap.com/ ? Type your city into the box, click Search, then scroll down to see game companies near you. Once you have a suitable portfolio, those nearest companies are where you should apply first. No matter if they're small companies - those are often the best place to get your foot in the door while you build experience and a network of contacts.

Also, your subject line seems to suggest that you are TELLING us about opportunities for programmers, while you're actually ASKING about them. Subject lines matter! Anyway, welcome to gamedev.net and good luck with your endeavours.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Advertisement

You should read the stickied posts atop this forum (Games Career Development), for starters

I did read one of those, will read all the other ones, thanks for reinforcing that!