Advertisement

startx troubles, can't find debian xf86config-4

Started by February 27, 2005 04:20 PM
17 comments, last by CyberSlag5k 19 years, 7 months ago
I just installed debian for the first time yesterday. I used slackwhere a little about 2 years ago, but other than that I'm a beginner with linux (as well as unix). I can navigate the console fairly well, but other than that I've got nothing. Anyway, I figured one of the first things to do is get a GUI up and running. I remember liking KDE (gnome wasn't bad either), so I thought I'd go with that. When installing debian, I was asked for a preference and chose KDE. When in the console, I type startx and get an error saying "Fatal server error: no screens found". Now, I would normally have gone and checked the xf86config-4 file (which I remember from last time), however I cannot seem to find it. I googled and found someone saying it should be in the etc/x11 directory. I have an etc (obviously) but there is no x11 directory. Does Debian put it in a different place? While I am at it, when I do locate my xf86config-4 file, what "screen" do I point it to? Obviously it's asking for my monitor, but I'm not sure how I should describe it (or where, for that matter, but I'd imagine I could find that). I specified a default resolution during setup, I'm thinking it just needs the name of my monitor. I'm guessing it isn't Bob... It's a princeton graphics VL1715 (I think)..should I just name it that? What else do I have to tell xf86config-4? Also, apt-get doesn't seem to be returning many results for things. I tried to apt-get pico (pico's fairly standard, isn't it?) but it couldn't find it. Isn't there an apt-search or something as well? I checked the sources.list file and it has 5 debian sources (2 non-US), so I think I'm attached to the main list. It seems odd that I can't really find too much using apt-get. I got gaim and fortune ok (though fortune wouldn't work until I rebooted), but can't find much else. Does this sugges