Advertisement

Linux game developement...

Started by May 14, 2002 07:08 PM
26 comments, last by Grellin 22 years, 4 months ago
I was reading the post below asking why Linux gaming hasn''t taken off and after reading all of the responses a question poped in my head and decided to ask for opinions. Just so you all know, I am not trying to start a flame war against Windows and Linux. I use both of them on a daily basis and like them both. So here goes and this is mainly for Linux coders but feel free to chime in... I just started programming on Linux and will be starting MESA and SDL shortly. I have used DX and have been working on OpenGL for Win32. One of the arguments I continously hear about why you should use OpenGL vice DX (*NOTE* I like them both, no fighting) is the ability to port to other OS with little work. Now if I code primarily for Linux using API''s that are available to both Win32 and Linux wouldn''t my code (with minimal tweaks) work on both systems? Otherwise what good is the argument that it is portable... Keep in mind I am NEW to Linux coding and don''t assume to know everything. Just trying to reach the maximum percent of possible new customers (some day). As a developer I don''t really care what "system"(Windows, Linux, Unix, Atari 2600...) it works on as long as there is potential to (being materialistic) be compensated for hard work. Or am I just lost with little hope of finding my sanity? GRELLIN
CGP | IYAOYAS
Steven Bradley .:Personal Journal:. .:WEBPLATES:. .:CGP Beginners Group:. "Time is our most precious resource yet it is the resource we most often waste." ~ Dr. R.M. Powell
No, you''re absolutely right.

Take care,
Bill
Advertisement