Advertisement

inline funcs

Started by February 29, 2000 06:39 PM
12 comments, last by NewDeal 24 years, 6 months ago
Im new to c++ and im not really sure if i got the inline function concept right. What i understood is that the inline keyword simply replaces the function call with the function code. The benefit should be that u dont waste time on function calls during runtime. Inline functions will however make the compiled exe bigger since some code is repeated. Right ? Say i have a function i only call once every gameloop - like my UpdateFrame() - wouldnt it always be better to inline this function. I mean, this would mean that the function takes up twice the space (who cares), but should be - at least - a little faster ? If i got this right i really cant see no reason not to inline functions that are repeated often. Am i missing something ??? I would really appreciate if some1 could clear this up for me. Thanx
yes thats basicly right. its a little faster then a non-inline... its only a good idea if the funcion is small(only a few lines long)...

Great Milenko

Words Of Wisdom:
"Never Stick A Pretzel In Your Butt It Might Break Off In There."

http://www.crosswinds.net/~milenko
http://www.crosswinds.net/~pirotech

The Great Milenko"Don't stick a pretzel up your ass, it might get stuck in there.""Computer Programming is findding the right wrench to hammer in the correct screw."
Advertisement
1 reason not to overinline.. cache trashing..
most of my class functions are inline because most of them are short... (1-2 lines, usually in ASM) but when i go through the disesemble in debug.. it still calls a function and pushes all of the regester and then pops them at the end... but this is retarded because i only use eax... so how exactly do you declare member functions as inline... and why does inlining screw w/ the cache?

ThanX,
RanXacT
RanXact@yahoo.com
In debug mode, inlining is disabled. Compile your program in release mode and then the inlining will work.