🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What are some of the things you like in games?

Started by
6 comments, last by allrts dot com 4 years, 7 months ago

Everybody here has played games they loved at some point

what was in those games that you liked?

Looking forward to hearing from you :)

Doug

Advertisement

Moving to appropriate forum.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Fallout 2, Diablo 2, Mass Effect the original trilogy, Dragon Age (all of them), The Witcher 2/3. They all have in common a good storyline. In second place, gameplay mechanics. I dont care too much about the graphics, maybe because all of my life I have depended on cheap video cards or the integrated GPU alone, or maybe because I started playing in MS-DOS.

On 9/10/2019 at 7:39 PM, rogerdv said:

Fallout 2, Diablo 2, Mass Effect the original trilogy, Dragon Age (all of them), The Witcher 2/3. They all have in common a good storyline. In second place, gameplay mechanics. I dont care too much about the graphics, maybe because all of my life I have depended on cheap video cards or the integrated GPU alone, or maybe because I started playing in MS-DOS.

Cool, thanks

Doug

Personally, the way to hook me in game is good game mechanics. I don't care if you have a good story or whatever but if there's almost non-existent game mechanics in the game, I would get bored easily. But, there's still a way for me to enjoy them which is if I watch Let's Players play them.

Graphics should feel polished, smooth and detailed but not so gritty that you can't see the important items.
Good: Quake 3 Arena had the perfect balance between smooth curves and detailed scenes.
Bad: Shadow Warrior 2 has way too many details. Cramming in more stuff than the player can perceive is just annoyingly distracting.