🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Am I good enough for hobby projects?

Started by
8 comments, last by WolfHound Coder 5 years, 8 months ago

I'd love to be able to contribute to some hobbyist project, but I'm interested in many areas and haven't focused hard in any single one, so I don't know if anything I might be able to produce would be worth anything to anyone even for free.

For example, I recently did a couple recordings for LibriVox: https://librivox.org/reader/12671?primary_key=12671&search_category=reader&search_page=1&search_form=get_results I was told I have a nice audiobook voice, maybe I could contribute as a voice actor (except, of course, I'm not a native English speaker)?

I've been dabbling in low-poly 3D art, for many years - probably this armadillo is my proudest moment: https://imgur.com/sAdKnTG

Of course, I've been programming, but I haven't managed to finish any projects, so I don't really have anything out there. But I spent about 2 years honestly wrestling with Unity, and a while with libGDX and Godot. I did this badly recorded video about a rather arcane project -

Oh, I also have a degree in translation between English and Russian, but I haven't engaged in that since uni, nor am I burning with desire to, but... I wouldn't mind to if I could be useful somewhere in that capacity. Except I also don't have a portfolio.

All that is to say, do you see me making a thread "[...] looking for a project" - fill in the brackets with what you think is applicable - and that not being a complete waste of a good thread?

I honestly just want to be useful in some way, and hopefully gain some experience. Of course, it doesn't have to be on this forum, if you see other options.

Advertisement

Hard to make a puzzle when you can't tell what shape the pieces are. ;)