🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Questions for Game Class Discussion

Started by
3 comments, last by trjh2k2 7 years, 5 months ago

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting, so I hope I got this discussion on the correct area.

I am currently a student in a Game course while finishing up my BS in Game Design with Support Technology. For this particular course we are to ask some questions of the community based on a specialization we have chosen. The one I chose was Lead Programmer for Games. I am looking to eventually work towards this, though I am still new to programming. So some of the questions I have for the community.

• Do companies still offer any kind of learn on the job or entry level positions for people learning to program?
  • Is it good to try and learn multiple programming languages, or better to try and just focus on one?
  • Is there a good place to start, skills to learn, if choosing to use professional development?
  • Do most companies do a lot of remote work, or do they use a physical office?

These are just some things I am wondering about not only for the class, but also as some ideas to help me plan end prepare for a future career I am hoping to peruse. Anything else that you feel may be of use or good to know please feel free to add. Thank you for taking the time to read.

-Morge

Advertisement

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting, so I hope I got this discussion on the correct area.