🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Solo developers - How has it worked out for you?

Started by
9 comments, last by HgM3rK 7 years, 5 months ago

I'll try to make this snappy...

I started developing solo games. Tried working in a team with friends but spent most of the time trying to quite literally give them things to do (Things I didn't need but didn't want to leave them out.). Anyway, I went solo, so I invested in playmaker (Visual coding software), because I don't have the time to spend months and months coding and solving issues for each game.

The problem is, I spent 6 weeks making a Tower Defense and after releasing a sort of playable version onto the app store, realised these games involved way too much work, despite using asset store products (I'm not an artist nor an animator in the slightest). I don't regret it though, I learnt an invaluable amount from it, but decided to go 2D and possibly 2.5D.

I'm just worried that I'm going to release 20-25 apps (Currently only on Google Play), and get maybe 3 or 4 downloads from all 25 apps that weren't me getting my friends to download it.

Things I'm aware of:

Paid advertising is the best way to get downloads, but I have next to no money.

You're supposed to build a community beforehand, but I have absolutely no idea how. This was a spur of the moment thing and I've progressed with development much faster than I first thought.

Artwork can make a HUGE difference, but I'm not an artist at all. I can barely draw stickmen :lol:

Things I'm unaware of:

How some apps that, quite frankly look awful and don't really engage with the user get 20,000+ downloads