Advertisement

Programming exams

Started by July 15, 2015 03:56 PM
30 comments, last by Thaumaturge 9 years, 1 month ago
I'm doing a bachelor degree in CS now, and while I generally am pleased with how my university college does stuff, the way they do programming exams is quite frustrating.
Normally in the course we get assignments that we must solve on our own, and then get the code reviewed and hopefully acceoted by the lecturer or a senior student. But on our final exams each semester, all code is written by hand, with pen on paper. This is the only time we write code this way. I just wondered, is this normal? Or have most places moved on to computers for programming exams? I mean, it feels kindof pointless to dot down so much code by hand, when it's not something you need to be skilled at..

I agree to the concept that we should prove what we know though, so just Notepad would be sufficient.. Refactoring just gets so hard with pen and paper.. :)
Programmer of HolyPoly games.

We had to write code on paper only for the very first programming class in college (Java).

Advertisement

The details vary by school and by teacher.

Talk to your teachers about it if the practice bothers you.

If they do require hand-written stuff, I'm sure the instructors are intelligent enough to realize it hasn't been run through a compiler and there may be issues with it; they're looking for concept, not production quality.