Advertisement

Are you the "From Scratch" type?

Started by June 18, 2015 08:07 PM
63 comments, last by Oluseyi 9 years, 2 months ago

Why bake bread from scratch? Why not buy a loaf?

There are thousands upon thousands of modules/libraries in numerous programming languages, using numerous frameworks. Many of them are free.

Why start from scratch when you have all of this stuff at your disposal? As a beginner, I know it can be overwhelming to have an idea and realize that "from scratch" it will take years upon years to complete.

If you really want to start from scratch, learn binary.

Really though, why am I so hesitant to use a library as if it is "cheating?"

I am working on a demo project for a game engine, and I was so hesitant to use code that was made available to me for free, because people will say that I didn't make the project. But who really makes everything completely by themselves?

Where does one draw the line?

So, skill enough, for where I am on this journey, is being able to take these modules, frameworks, free tools, and bring them together to make what I need.

I still consider it a specialization, at least until the average person can do the same.

Are you the "From Scratch" type?

They call me the Tutorial Doctor.

In my opinion, the most important part of being a programmer is being able to understand the program. You need enough knowledge available to solve problems in the program when they occur.

Writing things from scratch is a good way to develop rich knowledge about specific parts of programs, but it's not the only option. Extremely thorough documentation and even articles about designing specific systems are great ways to learn what goes on under the hood.

Once you have sufficient understanding of a system, there is no need to write that system yourself.

...because people will say that I didn't make the project.