Advertisement

My switch to 4k monitors

Started by May 12, 2014 02:28 AM
39 comments, last by davepermen 10 years, 4 months ago

Greetings,

I am a programmer, a wannabe indie game developer, and a fan of big screens. I just made the leap from 1920x1200 to 4k (actually, "UHD") at 3840x2160, and thought I would share my experience.

Note, I am a Windows user.

I was using five, 25" 1920x1200 displays, arranged with 3 on my desk and two above. When deep into programming, I can easily consume all of this space, depending upon what I'm working on. It isn't unusual to have 2-3 VMs, two versions Visual Studio, countless browsers, and other tools like Eclipse or IntelliJ open at once.

However, looking "up" to the top two monitors was a pain in the neck--really.

I have been watching UHD monitors since they released, and waiting for the price to drop into the troposphere, which they did just recently. I bought three Samsung U29D590D, 28" displays and got rid of the old monitors.

First impressions

Wow, stuff is SMALL! I went from 94 dpi to 157 dpi, and my eyes could really tell. I wondered if I was too old now to chase ever more tightly packed pixels.

Second impressions

With Windows Scaling to help adjust fonts and icons, these are very doable, with only a few minor gotcha's.

Final impressions
Utterly satisfied. All the tools I use make it easy to zoom in/out on my code, Windows scaling helps with toolbars and other screen elements, and I haven't yet found a bad spot.

However, whereas I assumed before purchase that three, quad-HD displays would give me about as much realestate as 12 HD displays, I would estimate the actual result to be something more like 9, because of scaling. This isn't bad, and rather than resulting in more eye strain it causes less, because everything is much clearer and crisper.

Thoughts about gaming and/or game dev