Advertisement

dvorak keyboard layout

Started by February 03, 2014 05:12 PM
15 comments, last by JDX_John 10 years, 7 months ago

Hi all,

Inspired by this thread: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=209748&b=2

I recently downloaded the dvorak keyboard layout along with the training program "gtypist", and I can't complain. Granted, my wpm on dvorak is currently only ~15 or so because I'm new to it, as opposed to my usual 80-100 on qwertz, but I can already feel my fingers doing far less work.

The qwertz/qwerty keyboard layouts are attrocious for programming. All of the special characters are miles away from where your hands are, and if you do a lot of typing or programming, you risk straining your hands.

The training program does a good job in teaching you the dvorak layout. It took me roughly ~8 hours of intensive training (spread over 3 days) before I didn't have to look up the keys anymore. I can highly recommend learning it, as I've found programming suddenly requires your fingers to do much less work. Your hands actually remain in the centre of your keyboard for a change.

Who else here uses dvorak?

"I would try to find halo source code by bungie best fps engine ever created, u see why call of duty loses speed due to its detail." -- GettingNifty

I can type 30 ish WPM using 4 fingers on a standard keyboard - that count for anything ?

I cannot remember the books I've read any more than the meals I have eaten; even so, they have made me.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Advertisement

I have qwerty and Im probably the most imbecile typer there is. Seriously, I live facing a computer since ~14 and still need to look to the keyboard, and I think I use only 3 fingers (botth hands, so 6) to type.

I tried Mavis Beacon Teats Typing once, but I noticed my improvement was only in the app, totally different mindset when doing it if you get what I mean...Im retarded, it gotta be a block.