Advertisement

How often do you doubt yourself?

Started by November 09, 2011 10:19 AM
12 comments, last by Instigator 12 years, 10 months ago
Hi. I've been working at my first job now for about six months. It's a non gamedev but enterprise software product company.

In my humble opinion the codebase is pretty nasty with millions of gotchas, but then again I don't have much to compare with.

I often doubt my abilities as a developer since it feels like if I implement or fix 5 features I also create 3-4 bugs.
Edsger Dijkstra: If debugging is the process of removing bugs, then programming must be the process of putting them in.

It is hard to compare directly, some codebases just have more bug traps due to poorly defined practises, silent or lack of error handling and vague requirements.

That said, if you're unhappy with your feature:bug ratio perhaps you should spend a little more time when developing them. For example, writing more unit tests, or moving to a test driven process. Taking a little time to think about things that are likely to go wrong when adding new features, and the impact the feature will have on the rest of the program. This could involve a little research to see what impact your changes will have on a given subsystem you are unfamiliar with.

Prepare a list of bugs you have created when adding new features, and see if there is a common pattern in them. Try to incorporate knowledge of the kind of bugs you create into your process of testing and writing new code.
Advertisement
I wish I had the time to do just that, but there is just too much pressure to get stuff out of the door.

I've heard that the employment turnover is quite bad. About 20-25 people in 8 years in a company of about 10 employees.

I often doubt my abilities as a developer since it feels like if I implement or fix 5 features I also create 3-4 bugs.

Seems like progress to me.