🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Mac Game Programming

Started by
7 comments, last by Oluseyi 14 years, 1 month ago
Hey everyone,

I am new to programming on the mac and was curious about Cocoa and do I need to learn it?

My goal is to work on a 2d Tile based RPG like the old final fantasy, and dragon warrior games. So, I will be using OpenGL and I am thinking about using SFML as well.

Do you guys think it is worth the extra time to learn a new API (Cocoa) for this type of game ? I'd also like to keep the code portable to Windows / Linux as well. I know Cocoa is not available there, but I'd learn and use it if it would help my programming.

I'm working on a Macbook with Snow Leopard and Xcode 3.2.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Michael
Michael RhodesTiger Studios Web Designhttp://tigerstudios.net
Advertisement
You're planning to use a cross-platform compatibility layer (SFML), so why do you care about Cocoa vs Carbon? So long as SFML is programmed using modern APIs, you can focus on a single API (SFML's) and build and deploy to Windows, Mac and Linux.

There's no point to learning Cocoa for your game unless you want it to be a Mac-exclusive, feel like rewriting huge chunks of your app for no real reason, or plan to add some special Mac-only features that SFML doesn't already support.
Well, the thing is that I am new to the Cocoa vs Carbon APIs and not sure what is there to use. I'm wondering if there would be some reason to chose cocoa over sfml. I really like the Mac so far and could see myself doing all my programming on it, however, the only mac I have is this 13 inch macbook and it is a little small to use as a full time computer.

So unless there are some performance benefits, or ease in programming by using Cocoa, I think I may stick with SFML.