🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

QT tutorials?

Started by
4 comments, last by dvogel 16 years, 9 months ago
First off I'm going to say this I'm new to Linux. I'm working with a group to create a Linux version of Tetris for the Openmoko Neo1973 phone for a professor at my University. The big drawback is that the group I'm working with, it's all our first time using Linux. After trying to convince him to allow us to use Allegro for the game, he insists that we use QT to make the game, as he's not sure allegro would work on the phone. From my research QT is more of a GUI tool and not necessarily a great game maker. Am I correct or have I just missed something? If I am wrong and it can be used for games, could point me in the direction of some good tutorials for making games using QT? Thanks.
TKE Super Dave
Advertisement
Yes, QT is just a GUI toolkit (which also forms the basis of KDE). From what I've seen the OpenMoku is pretty powerfull, so anything that works for making games on the desktop should work to make games on the Moko. Hardware 3D acceleration exempted. My personal favourite combination for small games on the desktop is Python + Glade (GTK) + Cairo/rsvg. I'm not sure if the OpenMoko can do Glade though. That's GTK technology. I don't know if the OpenMoko can do QT+GTK like the desktop can or if it only does QT.

<hr />
Sander Marechal<small>[Lone Wolves][Hearts for GNOME][E-mail][Forum FAQ]</small>

Quote: Original post by Sander