Advertisement

I have a fork() in my eye!

Started by March 28, 2007 09:07 AM
4 comments, last by Alaklin 17 years, 6 months ago
Okay guys, straight to the topic: #include <stdio.h> int main() { printf("la"); fork(); printf("e"); return 0; } will unexpectedly produce the following output: laelae whilst the following code: #include <stdio.h> int main() { printf("la\n"); fork(); printf("e\n"); return 0; } will produce the expected output: la e e What's happening? why doesn't the first program output: laee? P.S. (I'm a complete beginner) [Edited by - gpulove on March 28, 2007 9:33:25 AM]
The output that you see is totaly based on timing and is known as a Race Condition. The fork() command is used make a copy of the currently running program and run it on another thread. Remember that each line of c++ is not atomic but is split up into assembly lines by the compiler that could get interrupted anytime by a context switch. As the computer runs the two programs the following output could happen based on timing:

Process1 : "la"
Process1 : "e"
Process2 : "la"
Process2 : "e"

or

Process1 : "la" (the line rewinds but has not yet finished the newline)
Process2 : "la\n"
Process2 : "e" (the line has not either rewinded or moved to the newline)
Process1 : "\n" (finishes the newline)
Process1 : "e\n"
Process2 : "\n"
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by gpulove
What's happening? why doesn't the first program output: laee?

The C standard library provides buufered I/O on stdout by default. What that means in your case is that the buffer is copied through the fork and then flushed when the newline is inserted, or alternatively when the buffer is flushed when the stream is closed at program end.

--smw

Stephen M. Webb
Professional Free Software Developer

Okay, BUT
"The fork() command is used make a copy of the currently running program and run it on another thread."