Advertisement

Ubuntu LiveCD

Started by January 06, 2006 10:22 PM
2 comments, last by guyver23 18 years, 8 months ago
Hello! I am trying to give Ubuntu a test drive so that will know whether or not I want when I go to colleage. This is my first time using a boot disk, so please excuse me if my questions have obvious answers. 1. If the disk freezes, or fails to load, can I simply open the CD tray and take it out? 2. Is there any way it could possibly harm the hard-drive in any way? 3. I have dial-up connection. Will this mess up the LiveCD at all? 4. Is there anything I should not touch while running it? For example, if I accidentally click save, will the whole works crash? 5. Is there anything else I should know? Thanks guys! ^_^
Quote:
1. If the disk freezes, or fails to load, can I simply open the CD tray and take it out?

Yes.

Quote:
2. Is there any way it could possibly harm the hard-drive in any way?

Not unless you explicitly mount hard drive partitions as writable (short answer: no).

Quote:
3. I have dial-up connection. Will this mess up the LiveCD at all?

It won't "mess it up." The worst that could happen is that you won't be able to go online.

Quote:
4. Is there anything I should not touch while running it? For example, if I accidentally click save, will the whole works crash?

Not really. You can save documents, but it'll save it to ram.
Advertisement

1. If the system has halted due to hardware failure, your CD-ROM eject button may become unresponsive (particularly since Windows gives a BSOD and Linux gives -- I think -- a kernel panic under such circumstances).

2. Impossible. Ubuntu Live doesn't touch the hard drive at all. I had a problem this weekend where my hard drive was unbootable. I had to check a couple things online before I commenced with the fix, so I unplugged the hard drive, and booted up using my 5.10 Ubuntu Live CD.