Advertisement

Autoconf

Started by October 17, 2005 07:57 AM
6 comments, last by kadaf 18 years, 11 months ago
Hi! I have written a program under Linux. Now I want to make a tar.gz package using autoconf, automake, so I can distribute the program. But the autoconf man page is difficult for me to understand, because I am new to Linux. Where should I start? Is there any userfriendly program for this purpose? Can Kdevelop do this? Lutyo
The template files generated by KDevelop can help but they are a bit outdated. I suggest googling for configure.ac and Makefile.am. You will find both tutorials and examples of real projects. The script to run autotools in the right order is often called autogen.sh or bootstrap.

OGRE is one good example but be sure to look at others as well.

Btw. if you see a configure.in file then it is probably written for an older version of autoconf. The practice of naming the autoconf script configure.ac is fairly new.
Advertisement
No, there is nothing user-friendly about autoconf/automake. The system does, however, allow your program to run on a large variety of differently broken UNIX implementations, which is considered friendly by the users of your package.
enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };
Thank you. Finally I have found the solution. Anjuta can create a distribution. Now I can distribute my program. [cool]
I believe that Anjuta just calls "make dist". Maybe should you look into that, in case you don't want to be tied to a particular IDE.

Hope this helps.
Here is a tutorial about autoconf, automake, etc. that will hopefully be easier to understand than the man page.
Advertisement
You can always read the autobook [smile]
autoconf/automake in 7 easy steps:

1. Create a Makefile.am file in your source directory. It should look something like this: