Advertisement

Which linux distro is right for me?

Started by April 04, 2005 12:55 PM
13 comments, last by domstyledesign 19 years, 4 months ago
I'm sure you guys get asked this a lot, and i know the best way to find out is just to try everything available. well i've tried a couple of live cd distros, but none of them would boot. i tried several suggestions on the intarweb, but i've pretty much given up on them. of course i need a distro w/ some compatability (p4 3.0ghz, 512mb ram, NTFS - if it's supported yet). I'd like something w/ an easy install and an easy to use bootloader so i can keep windows. I'd also like something with a nice UI. i'd like to think i'm all-pro @ the DOS shell, but i have no experience w/ the linux shell. any suggestions? _________________________________ also, does anyone here run Solaris?
Quote: Original post by domstyledesign
I'm sure you guys get asked this a lot, and i know the best way to find out is just to try everything available.

well i've tried a couple of live cd distros, but none of them would boot. i tried several suggestions on the intarweb, but i've pretty much given up on them.

Installing without a LiveCD can be tricky. Especially if you don't have a Linux install already.

Quote: of course i need a distro w/ some compatability (p4 3.0ghz, 512mb ram, NTFS - if it's supported yet). I'd like something w/ an easy install and an easy to use bootloader so i can keep windows. I'd also like something with a nice UI.

All distros have pretty much the same compatabilty as they are all running this here kernel called Linux. NTFS can be read, but writing is trickier.

Quote: i'd like to think i'm all-pro @ the DOS shell, but i have no experience w/ the linux shell. any suggestions?

Suggestion: Install Linux without one of them GUIs to master the commandline.