Advertisement

Game Project For Linux

Started by August 30, 2004 06:35 AM
11 comments, last by Bieh 20 years ago
Hi i'm new to linux and i'm very interested in developing a game engine for my forth year project. In particular i'm interested in developing a game engine for a frontier elite clone ( e.g. for those who don't remember, an accurrate space sim/fighting/trading style game) I have a little experience with OpenGL through Java bindings from my project last year (3D Chess) and would like to really deleve into OpenGL this year and create a great engine. From the little knowledge i have of Linux, i have heard that OpenGL or just graphics in general perform worse than say Direct X, [which i want to stay away from, for morale reasons :)] and i'm not really sure where to start with graphics programming for Linux. I would really like some constructive advice on the pro's and con's of developing a graphics engine on linux so i know where i stand Thanks
OpenGL doesn't perform worse than Direct3D. The only let down is that on Windows you have to use extensions to access more advanced features than version 1.0. You won't have this problem on Linux though [smile].
Advertisement
The relative performance of Direct3d and OpenGL are mostly down to how the drivers are coded.

Of course one can beat the other.

Direct3d provides (certainly in more recent versions) some features which you can't do in OpenGL without using extensions. This is not necessarily a problem though, because most OpenGL drivers support a lot of extensions.

Mark
Quote:
I have a little experience with OpenGL through Java bindings from my project last year (3D Chess) and would like to really deleve into OpenGL this year and create a great engine.

I'm not positive but I looked into using java with opengl once and I think they only work together on windows.