Advertisement

Which Linux?

Started by September 04, 2003 10:19 AM
20 comments, last by UltimaX 21 years ago
My sister just got me a job at the company she works for as a computer programmer and they use Linux. I have Windows XP but I want to install Linux to work with XP (On a seperate partition of course). Which version of Linux do you recommend? I have OpenLinux 2.2 and Red Hat 7.0 (But can download 9(ish?)) I am also thinking about redoing my game engine on Linux. Which compiler would you recommend? The only compiler on Linux I heard of is GNU C. P.S. Before anyone bombs me let me say this. I have done very little on Linux, BUT the company is going to train me from the ground up. They know I have little experience with Linux, and they think thats good They said they can 'customize' me the way they would want (Without any outside influences). The last guy they had thought he was a big shot and kept messing up their systems, thats why they want someone they can train. Anyway, if you guys can help me out on those 2 simple questions, I would greatly appreciate it. EDIT By the way, what do I need to be able to choose which system I want to boot? LILO? Thank you for your time, -UltimaX- "You wished for a white christmas... Now go shovel your wishes!" [edited by - UltimaX on September 4, 2003 11:22:42 AM]
Although all forms of Linux are going to be similar, I think it would be better if you go the same version of Linux as you would be using at work, that why you'll be able to find things easily.

GCC works on linux and I'm using Kdevelop which comes with Red Hat 9.0 for the development of my game..

EDIT: If you installing Red Hat it will automatically setup the dual boot when you go through the installation process

Please visit Turt99 Productions

[edited by - Turt99 on September 4, 2003 11:26:00 AM]
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER OR MY BLOG
Advertisement