Advertisement

unsigned

Started by February 13, 2000 12:52 PM
12 comments, last by Pseudo_Code 24 years, 7 months ago
I have looked in all of the books, and what does an unsigned variable do? What difference does it make whether it is signed or unsigned? and yes, I am very new to C++. I am trying to learn as much about the language before I learn directx.
Mostly it''s good for giving you more numbers... for instance, if you only want positive numbers and negatives don''t mean anything in your context, you lose half the possible numbers you would have if you use a signed variable, but with unsigned, you get zero to however high you can go with that number of bits.

-fel
~ The opinions stated by this individual are the opinions of this individual and not the opinions of her company, any organization she might be part of, her parrot, or anyone else. ~
Advertisement
Thanks alot! But, I have another question, what are WORDs and DWORDs? I really appreciate your, and anybody''s help! This helps me out a lot more than you would think. thank you for reading my questions.
WORDS are 16 bits of data. DWORDS are 32 bits of data. I think the MS headers define them both to be unsigned integer types (short and long respectively).
That''s really not C/C++ more like win/dx typedefs
something like
typedef unsigned _int16 WORD;
typedef unsigned _int_32 DWORD;
basically, a WORD is a unsigned 16 bit integer, and a DWORD a 32 bit unsigned integer