🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Options for placeholder characters

Started by
2 comments, last by Bakkerbaard 6 years, 5 months ago

I'm browsing around for a piece of software that allows me to whip up some 2D placeholder characters so I might have some visual support for myself when I try to set up some sort of proof of concept. It doesn't have to be anything fancy, it's just that I want something to look at and it would be ridiculous to get an artist to waste their time on it.

I've gathered that a lot of people use Gimp, but from what I know of it it's basically opensource Photoshop, right? Which means I'll be doing "designs" from scratch. Which then means it's no good for me. I used to be an okay artist in school, but then I decided I was gonna be a rockstar and now I can't do either properly.

My criteria would be: something basic. Something simple enough your kid could use it. Preferably free, but if it turns out I could use it for more than placeholders I could part with a couple of bucks. Something 2D. Hopefully something that allows for a bit of customisation to make my placeholders distinguishable. 

I'm probably gonna do a mockup in Adventure Game Editor, which I don't know much about yet either, but I suppose if I can export crude frames of animation to PNG or something I could wrangle that into a usable sequence. 

Style-wise it doesn't have to be impressive. I'll do fine with a thing that let's me take the same human shape over and over and slap a moustache on one and a pretty bow on another. Anyway, I hope I managed to get my message across. Does anything like that exist?

Advertisement
5 hours ago, Bakkerbaard said:

I've gathered that a lot of people use Gimp

Use it and draw stick men. Your artist will just need a simple understanding of what is happening to replace it later.