🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Limiting Actions Per Minute (APM)

Started by
5 comments, last by RivieraKid 7 years, 3 months ago

I am not a game developer, I am doing research and am wondering whether there are any games out there which limit user interaction rates.

Not everyone can perform interactions at the same rate. For example, Park Sung-joon has been recorded performing 1 action per 73.5ms (818 APM).

To clarify, by interactions, I mean mouse clicks, keypresses, etc.

My questions are:

• What games, if any, limit the number of interactions that can be performed within a given timeframe (eg, 1 second)?
  • What are the pros/cons of limiting interaction rate?
Advertisement
They're called "cooldowns". They're quite common in games.

Games which do not explicitly place a cooldown on a particular action typically only check once per frame whether a player wants to perform some action. So in those cases it depends on what the input sampling rate of the game is.

Pros/cons are based on the game design.

They're called "cooldowns". They're quite common in games.

Games which do not explicitly place a cooldown on a particular action typically only check once per frame whether a player wants to perform some action. So in those cases it depends on what the input sampling rate of the game is.

Pros/cons are based on the game design.

Do you know of any games which "explicitly place a cooldown on a particular action"?

"So in those cases it depends on what the input sampling rate of the game is." - Do you know how I can find out what the input sampling rate of a game is? Do you know of any games and their input sampling rate?

Thanks!

Do you know of any games which "explicitly place a cooldown on a particular action"?