🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Navigating the game development world as a teen

Started by
4 comments, last by khawk 7 years, 6 months ago

Hello!

I'm a 14 year-old looking to get into the online game development community. I am mostly self-taught and work with Python and Pygame, although I do eventually want to learn a more advanced language, such as C++. I've been involved in coding for multiple years, but have never really worked on any one consistent project until now. My current game is pretty simple 2-D platformer (see attached pictures), kind of like Super Meat Boy, which I've been working on for about 2 months now. My long term goal is to get it onto Steam Greenlight, and then perhaps even have it Greenlit, but that's obviously a very hard thing to do. So if anyone has any tips on how to get to get to that point, I would really like to hear them. Thanks!

Advertisement

You have been doing the right thing. You just need to continue doing so for several more years. Keep making games, keep expanding your knowledge, and don't be afraid to try and fail.

Wow, good work! I started making games at 16, and they really sucked. But I never gave up and I eventually got better and better at programming and software development :)