🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How big is your project?

Started by
37 comments, last by LAURENT* 7 years, 7 months ago

Just a quick question, how big is your project? Like... in files. I'm just curious, because mine currently has 80 files and its just the engine. I plan on adding minor features and smoothing things out a bit. This will probably grow to 90 files after that. Once I add the actual game-part back in, it will be over 100. Is that excessive? I try to have a source for every header for completeness. Most of my files have at least a few 100 lines of code. A fair portion of them have 1000+. What's your's like? I have to scroll miles and miles... hehe I hate scrolling ;-)

Go Hawks!

Advertisement

30-40 files at most, though I'm just a hobbyist. I hate tabbing between files too, and I rarely have to scroll because I don't have to work on many parts of the code at once. Usually the function I'm implementing and maybe the point where I'm using it. If I have to jump here and there in the source code, that means the system is a spaghetti.

Using SourceMonitor, my personal project is:

817 files, containing 113,244 non-empty lines, of which 22.7% are comments, 59,204 are actually code statements / logic, the rest are things like class definitions and so on.

1,140 functions, 750 classes, with an average of 7.93 methods per class. (I guess class functions don't count towards their "function" metric?)

(some GDNetters work on commercial projects that are ten times or even a hundred times larger than this :wacko:)

This is one "project" but it's a large project broken into multiple sub-projects:

• My common library
  • Common library test suite (mostly empty :P)
  • The game engine
  • The huge editor
  • The (mostly non-existent) game
  • Assorted tiny tools