🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Problem with graphics

Started by
3 comments, last by Eulagrief 7 years, 9 months ago

So I signed up to this site after finding it because I felt it would help me a ton in my desire to create video games. At the moment, my knowledge with any coding language is very primitive, so I'm using game maker until I've studied enough to become fluent in, say, c++. I excitedly opened the program today with intentions of starting my first real game (did create a very basic and silly, barely worked game in high school, but I don't count it). I quickly, very quickly, ran into a problem I should have seen coming. Coding? Yes, I enjoy to learn how to code and script, I'm just a beginner is all. Graphic design? Uh oh... I have no knowledge on how to create graphics. I can't make my character. I can't create the landscape I want. I have no interest in graphics at all for that matter. So essentially what I'm asking here is for advice. Am I going to have to force myself to do something I don't at all enjoy, learn to create graphics? Are there solid graphics that aren't copyright online? I've found some sources with very primitive but free graphics, are there sources with better images I'm not aware of? And if I do have to learn graphic design, what program will make smooth looking images for the games I wish to make? Smoother than say, minecraft (Superb game mind you in my opinion). But nothing too fancy like say, Skyrim or even World of Warcraft with high graphic settings. I personally think WoW looks beautiful. The idea of making even the common explosion seems absolutely overwhelming to me. Where do I start? Thank you in advanced for any help. And just so you know, this is not a register and ask 1 question and never return kind of thing. The more I learn, the more I'll help and