Advertisement

Is Video games development strictly for geniuses?

Started by February 05, 2015 09:14 PM
21 comments, last by Bernardolo 9 years, 7 months ago

First, about me, I'm 18 years old and I'm also completely new to the anything in relation to something more specific than my computer Hardware.

I've heard from a certain someone that from what he knows about this stuff it's something that unless you're a genuine genius in, You can't pull it off.
I don't want to believe that, but I already know I'm no genius and I feel like I already missed my time to learn this things even as a hobby.
I just feel like I got into it too late and now I'm missing one of those things I want most, even though it was always right under my nose.
I hope you'll tell me I can succeed in it, but if the chances are too low to trust I would also like to know that.
Thinking about my age and how I have to start studying you can see why I am confused but, at least, I don't want to get depressed and just diss this important aspect of my life (Like my phsyciatric implied to me).
Thx.wacko.png

Sure. We are all geniuses here. dry.png

Like, very genius.

Advertisement

You did not "miss your time". You are not "too late". And you are not alone is this kind of thinking.

As for genius, that depends on how you define it. For most definitions I would say no, most are not genius. However, most are quite intelligent.

You do need to realize that making games is very different from playing games.

Many people enjoy playing games and then posit that making games would be just as fun. It may be fun if you love that aspect of the craft.

For programmers, it means you need to love software development and enjoy the thrill of crafting high performance code. For modelers and artists it means you love building models and creating textures. For animators it means a love for animation.