Advertisement

Possible to be a (good) software developer without owning a PC?

Started by February 03, 2015 08:22 PM
10 comments, last by nobodynews 9 years, 7 months ago

Ok, so I'm thinking of selling my PC soon in an attempt to simplify my life a bit.

I'm tired of stressing out over some game that I know I will never complete and I find development these days to be a very isolated experience and somewhat detrimental to my mental health. I'm in the process of uploading my projects (completed and uncompleted) to sourceforge under an open source license.

I just wanted to know if you guys think it is still possible to be good software developer without actually owning a home PC? Granted it is what I do for a living :(

Cheers.

Depends on what your work environment is, I suppose. If it allows you to grow as a developer, then maybe. If it's simply a day job manufacturing software, then not so much.

SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
Advertisement

Would you still have access to a PC? If so in what capacity. What do you do at Work?

The best way to get better at some thing is to do it, alot (in specific ways). Not owning a PC makes it alot more difficult to do that in certain situations.

This being said, my co-worker does not own a computer in his household. (However we are spending 10 hours every day at work on the computer), he is a very good software developer. I on the other hand do own a PC although rarely use it (mostly a dedicated Netflix-Box right now), because all the stuff I work on requires me to be at work.

If you are planning on working on Commercial Software, working on other peoples Hardware can open up a whole can of worms.

To get better the only thing that matters is having Access to a PC (and being able to work on relevant stuff). Whether you need to own one or not is dependent on your situation.