Advertisement

What intermediate/advanced games should every programmer write?

Started by August 08, 2014 10:27 PM
9 comments, last by RLS0812 10 years, 1 month ago

There are thousands of "How to start" tutorials, questions and answers, but I miss "How to continue" types. I am looking for games good for learning more advanced features/mechanics/etc. A bit of explanation: I found myself advancing in my big project way too slowly and I attribute this to lack of experience in more difficult/bigger projects then side scrollers. I hope few intermediate games could actually improve the development speed in long run.

Please note that I am more interested in programming then designing itself. I am especially looking for 3D/3D applicable games.

What I imagine as a game good for learning?

• does not require many assets (I am not an artist after all)
  • quick to make and finish
  • requires implementation of intermediate/advanced features
  • good examples available - exemplary games by others showing "how to properly make this"

tl;dr: I made side scroller, 2d multliplayer and a raytracer - where could I continue now?

EDIT: I am not looking for beginner games like pong or akranoid but rather more difficult ones.

Why was this posted in Game Design? I'm moving it to a more appropriate forum.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Advertisement
recommended reading: http://www.gamedev.net/page/resources/_/technical/game-programming/your-first-step-to-game-development-starts-here-r2976 has a pretty comprehensive list of games you should be able to make before moving onto more advanced stuff.
Check out https://www.facebook.com/LiquidGames for some great games made by me on the Playstation Mobile market.

Thanks, those are nice beginner tips, but as mentioned earlier. I am not looking for for beginner tips. I already made games like space imapact, multiplayer pexeso and a raytracer. I doubt I could learn much from games like Pong or Tetris now...Or does quantity matter?