Advertisement

Unity 4 Survey

Started by April 30, 2014 02:54 AM
5 comments, last by Mouser9169 10 years, 4 months ago

I’m an aspiring game developer and am currently in year 12. I am doing my final year Research Project on developing a game in Unity and was hoping I could get some help from people who have some experience in Unity, you don’t have to answer every question if you don’t want to but it would really help.

1. What makes Unity popular? "edited"

2. At what age would you recommend someone start using Unity and how much do you need to know to use Unity effectively?

3. Why should someone use Unity in comparison to other programs?

4. Would you recommend the use of outside sources such as a design program when working with Unity?

5. Are there any tutorials apart from the ones on your site that you would really recommend for using Unity?

6. Are there any shortcuts or techniques that may help with learning Unity faster?

7. What genre of game can be made in unity and are there some that are more difficult to make then others?

8. How long can some games take to finish their development cycle?

9. How soon would you recommend trying to get your games on Steam, Google play, iTunes or even a website that hosts flash games?

10. How can small games become popular?

11. What advice would you give to an aspiring game developer on how to get started?

Thank you for your time, I really appreciate your help.

This doesn't belong in the Game Design forum. Moving.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Advertisement

Hmm I dont think 1. makes sense. You have tons of awful games made in Unity. The engine is popular because its the only one of its kind. You have tons of lighter engines and lets say a couple harder engines (Cryengine, UDK), Unity is the one and only middle.

"Smoke me a kipper i'll be back for breakfast." -- iOS: Science Fiction Quiz