🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Are these pc specs and price good?

Started by
31 comments, last by CircuitX 16 years, 3 months ago
I'm a CS student interested in graphics and AI programming who will be buying a computer soon and wanted to know if the specs and price of the desktop I'm planning to buy are good. I will appreciate all of your advices but keep in mind that I only have $1300 to spend on the computer. NOTE: Aside of programming I will be playing Flight Simulator X and Crisis Here are the specs: Case: Apevia X-Jupiter Jr. Fans: 120mm fan ( Qty: 3 ) PSU: CoolerMaster Unit 600 Watts Extreme Power-SLI Supports CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2.66GHz CPU Cooling: CoolerMaster Liquid CPU Cooling Motherboard: Asus P5N-D nForce 750i SLI RAM: 2GB (2x1GB) Corsair Value Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT 512MB 16x PCI Express (Only one) Monitor: 19" ViewSonic VA1903 WB WXGA+ HDD: 320GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM Optical Drive: 20X DVD DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER Optical Drive: 16X DVD ROM Sound: Integrated 7.1 Sound Speakers: Logitech (BLACK) X-540 70Watts 5.1 Configuration Speaker System Network: PCI Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Interface Card Media: 12 in 1 Flash Media Reader/Writer Software: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 All for a total price of $1238 before shipping and handling Is the 600W PSU a good option or should I get a 500W or 535W PSU instead? Thanks in advance, CircuitX [Edited by - CircuitX on February 13, 2008 7:56:28 PM]
Advertisement