🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

SuSe Linux kernel panic on boot

Started by
4 comments, last by Omid Ghavami 16 years, 9 months ago
Hi! I'm in great need of some assistance from you Linux pros! I'm a beginner so bear with me please! I'm running SuSe Linux Enterprise Desktop 10.1. I've had no troubles with it until now. The problem showed up after updating my OS with the online updater (This was not the first update, I had performed successful updates earlier). I can now no longer boot Linux. Right at the beginning of the boot sequence, perhaps 1-2 seconds in, I get: /bin/bash: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory followed by Kernel panic and then the system locks up. I managed to boot the system using the installation CD to investigate the situation. The file libreadline.so.5 does exist, in two different places (two different versions). I have one version in /lib/ which references libreadline.so.5.1 and one in /usr/local/lib/ which references libreadline.so.5.2. The package manager installed 5.1 for me, and I manually compiled and installed 5.2. I don't know if this is important but it was not causing any problems before I performed this online update. The package manager tells me that some of the patches from the update are *broken*. I did not manage to re-install nor delete these patches. I did a bit of trial and error, installing and re-installing patches and packages, to no avail. I somehow ended up with two kernels, I can't boot with any of them. I would appreciate any help I can get to solve this problem. Let me know if any additional information is required. Thanks in advance
Best regards, Omid
Advertisement
I'm no expert too. But you might need to create a link called libreadline.so.5
to the 5.1 or 5.2 file.