🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Why Linux?

Started by
29 comments, last by Oxyd 16 years, 10 months ago
I have never used linux before, just heard of it as a popular community OS, and being used by some Visual FX/animated movies studios. My question is what's the advantgae of using an naked OS, no applications no drivers and no standard GUI? The price? Our computers come with Windows installed, and we get the CD for free. Is not a toy for joy? To feel like a hacker or a geek, becuase u can change the themes and there r plenty of them?
Advertisement
Well, it depends on your distro as to what software and drivers you get. Windows is not free with the PC, it is included in the price. I use Tux as my main development system because it's clean and doesn't crash as much as my Windows machines, it could be due to the way I set Windows up, though, but I doubt it is. Also, most Linux distros are not "naked" as you say, maybe stripped down, but I haven't seen a whole lot of completely "naked" ones.
Quite many GNU/Linux distributions actually have far more software included out of the box than windows, There is also far better support for SMP, networking, clustering, virtualization, and much much more than in the cheaper windows versions (XP Home/Pro and Vista are cheap).

When it comes to Visual FX, movies etc you really can't get much power with a cheap windows version, XP Home only supports 1 CPU (Though with multiple cores) and 4GB ram (iirc), GNU/Linux currently supports up to 512 CPU:s if you use a custom kernel. (64 is the limit in most standard kernels IIRC) and insane amounts of RAM, even 2003 Server is unable to get anywhere close to GNU/Linux if you want to do some really heavy work.