Advertisement

Need help with basic Linux Shell Scripting

Started by May 29, 2007 02:38 PM
9 comments, last by Sander 17 years, 4 months ago
I am trying to do the following to make my work life easier... I am new to linux, but this is the shell script I am trying to write: (note: I modified the addresses and password for this example) ssh root@111.11.11.11 -X #SSH Server will now prompt for password #However I am inside SSH so I simply can't echo it. echo password ssh serverName@222.222.222.2 -X -i identification_key_file If it is impossible to shell script while inside a program, is there a way I can execute shell commands from a c/c++ program?
Anyone has any idea? I thought there were a multitude of linux gurus here.
Advertisement
hello,
look at execl function family or system function

Quote: Original post by Khaos Dragon
I am trying to do the following to make my work life easier...

I am new to linux, but this is the shell script I am trying to write:
(note: I modified the addresses and password for this example)

ssh root@111.11.11.11 -X
#SSH Server will now prompt for password
#However I am inside SSH so I simply can't echo it.
echo password
ssh serverName@222.222.222.2 -X -i identification_key_file

If it is impossible to shell script while inside a program, is there a way I can execute shell commands from a c/c++ program?

I am not really sure what your problem is, but maybe you want to exchange your ssh-keys, so you don't need to use your password every login?

save the publickey of your computer into the ~/.ssh/authorized_keys on your remotemachine. (this file may differ form system to system @see man ssh)

For executing stuff on the commandline use system(), or popen() (popen provides a pipe to the out or in of the called command, so you can for example read what "ls -l" says.
What are you trying to do? Log in via SSH using a script? Are RSA keys a viable option?

SSH login without password