Advertisement

c shell in Ubuntu

Started by April 28, 2006 06:17 AM
13 comments, last by gumpy 18 years, 4 months ago
I'm new to Linux so I have no idea how to do anything. I am trying to install a printer but when I get to the part where I have to install the LPR stuff (I have no idea what they are) it says that it can't do it because c shell isn't installed. I'm using Ubuntu (Breezy Badger) and I know that it doesn't come with c shell. Where do I get it and how do I install it? Any tutorials would be great. Thanks.
F-R-E-D F-R-E-D-B-U-R...G-E-R! - Yes!
i've never even used a printer under linux so i have no idea, but the following should help if you don't get an answer here.

Quote:
If you're looking for immediate personal interaction, you can ask questions directly to the Ubuntu community in our IRC channel. To use it, join the channel #ubuntu on irc.freenode.net. If you are very new to Ubuntu, and haven't used IRC before, find the XChat program from Applications->Internet on your Ubuntu desktop. Then login to irc.freenode.net and join the #ubuntu channel.

personally i'd recommend suse 10 over ubuntu for a beginnner.
This space for rent.
Advertisement
That's the other thing...I haven't gotten the internet working yet either [grin]
If by "c shell" it means csh, you can install it with synaptic (the graphical package manager ubuntu uses) - but if you can't get the computer connected to the internet this isn't an option.
Quote: Original post by DigiDude
That's the other thing...I haven't gotten the internet working yet either [grin]

in that case, i again recommend suse. [lol]

ubuntu 5.10's installation and setup aren't all that great and i call bullshit on the newbie-friendly claims. if the livecd doesn't work properly and you aren't familiar with linux, you're going to end up frustrated and clueless with an actual installation.