Advertisement

Crossing over/ makefiles... wtf?

Started by April 20, 2005 11:21 AM
13 comments, last by Leffe 19 years, 4 months ago
Ok, yay! I have successfully crossed over to the the dark side, I have installed windows xp and ubuntu successfully, and I even have my wireless card up and running. Now that I have all this going for me, I figured it was time to jump in and do some development. The water is cold guys... Basicly, where do I begin? Everything I have done so far as installing and downloading packages has involved using make. What is it? Do people generate makefiles by hand? or are they an export from and IDE like you can do with visual studio? I opened one of the makefiles, and it looked prety complicated. I'm sure you can build them by hand, but is there a good program for doing this? In short, I am new to linux development, I can build other people's packages, but on my own, I am screwed. What do I need to do to get started?
HxRender | Cornerstone SDL TutorialsCurrently picking on: Hedos, Programmer One
Makefiles arn't that hard to write. I was in the same situation as you but I managed to learn make after a few good tutorials. The IDEs I found didn't impress me, so I decided I'd develop with Visual Studio on Windows, then when I needed to compile on linux just run a makefile. I don't have the tutorials I used anymore, sorry.
Advertisement
You can use Eclipse+CDT to automatically let Eclipse generate makefiles. Or you can write your own. Custom makefiles give you more flexibility. Another option is to let automake generate makefiles for you.
Quote: Original post by nmi
You can use Eclipse+CDT to automatically let Eclipse generate makefiles. Or you can write your own. Custom makefiles give you more flexibility. Another option is to let automake generate makefiles for you.

I'm not on my linux box right now, so I am limmited as to what I can test.

Another thing, how can I automount my fat32 partition when I login?