Advertisement

Gentoo, fluxbox, and other fun

Started by April 02, 2005 10:25 PM
6 comments, last by outRider 19 years, 5 months ago
I'm really a Linux novice, but just recently I managed to install Gentoo and fluxbox, but am having a few issues. 1. First, when the machine boots and the kernel starts, everything is fine, except for some small error regarding a file system. Unfortunately, it scrolls too fast to catch, but I'm sure there's a log of the output, where can I find it? 2. From what I understand /usr/share/fluxbox/ holds global settings while /home/myaccount/.fluxbox contains personal settings, is this correct? 3. I copied init and menu from fluxbox/ in /usr to .fluxbox. I emerged fbdesk, but can't for the life of me figure out how to use it to get some icons on the desktop. Does anyone know?
Quote: Original post by outRider
2. From what I understand /usr/share/fluxbox/ holds global settings while /home/myaccount/.fluxbox contains personal settings, is this correct?

Global settings are generally stored under /etc. I don't see why fluxbox would do it differently.

If you don't get answers to your questions here, search gentoo forums or post there if you can't find an answer. They generally have great community until the conversation leads to Microsoft. Then they lose all shadow of reason.
Advertisement
/usr/share is generally for files shared between users that almost never need changing. You'll often find things such as documentation ( man, info, html, etc ), pictures ( icons, toolbar images, etc ) and other data files ( wav sounds, keymaps, fonts, etc ) stored there.
Quote: Original post by outRider
1. First, when the machine boots and the kernel starts, everything is fine, except for some small error regarding a file system. Unfortunately, it scrolls too fast to catch, but I'm sure there's a log of the output, where can I find it?