Advertisement

Installing SDL_gfx - Dependency Conflicts

Started by December 09, 2004 05:03 PM
3 comments, last by C-Junkie 19 years, 9 months ago
Ok, I'm new to Linux and I'm trying to get all the SDL libraries and development tools installed. I'm using SUSE 9.1 and I downloaded SDL_gfx-2.0.12-1.i586.rpm and SDL_gfx-devel-2.0.12-1.i586.rpm to get SDL_gfx working because there are no official packages for SDL_gfx. I click on the .rpm and tell it to install with YAST but it pops up a bunch of Dependency Conflicts:

devel(libasound)
devel(libaudiofile)
devel(libaudio)
devel(libdl)
devel(libesd)
devel(libgcc_s)
devel(libICE)
devel(libm)
devel(libSDL-1.2)
devel(libSM)
devel(libX11)
devel(libXext)
devel(libXt)

That I don't have but are needed for SDL_gfx. I did a little searching and I think that most of this libraries are pretty core to the system, but I don't know if I have the development versions. And what business does SDL_gfx have being dependent upon these audio libraries? I have SDL installed. This is just for the SDL_gfx runtime, not the development. Here is the complete list of dependencies.

rpmlib(PayloadFilesHavePrefix) <= 4.0-1
rpmlib(CompressedFileNames) <= 3.0.4-1
libc.so.6
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.0)
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.1.3)
libgcc_s.so.1
libm.so.6
libm.so.6(GLIBC_2.0)
libpthread.so.0
libSDL-1.2.so.0
devel(libasound)
devel(libaudio)
devel(libaudiofile)
devel(libdl)
devel(libesd)
devel(libgcc_s)
devel(libICE)
devel(libm)
devel(libSDL-1.2)
devel(libSM)
devel(libX11)
devel(libXext)
devel(libXt)

What does the "devel" mean and how can I fix this. I'm eager to get SDL working. Thanks everyone
DSL_gfx depends on libsdl which in turn requires the aduio dependencies.

Linux packages are generally split into 2 groups, normal and development (which include the header files and such). Suse should have an sdl devel package (or something similar) which will get all of these for you.
Advertisement