Advertisement

DigiPen vs. FullSail

Started by December 24, 1999 03:01 AM
12 comments, last by LostSoul 24 years, 9 months ago
My opinion:

Knowledge and experience learned at either school can be translated over to different platforms ( PSX, Wintel, etc..).

Six

I'm currently a student at DigiPen, and the only thing we've done so far is windows/dos programming. Next semester, we are supposed to start snes programming I believe; but no mac.
Advertisement
Sorry I just now read the post I wrote.... I don't understand my point myself, so let me be easier to understand. I am looking into going to one of these two schools to earn a degree in game development. After studying the web pages I noticed that DigiPen sounds like an endorsed school worthy of my time, and FullSail sounds more like a scam to make money.... At FullSail's website they say they are licensed, but they don't say by who, and for what. And they do have a commercial web address, vs. DigiPens .edu address.... I am just looking for advice as to which school if any I should attend for a degree in game development. Thanks for clearing up the DigiPen information; the file about schools stated that DigiPen only taught SNES and Mac programing. I would also like to know if learning how to program for the SNES would be worth my time, it seems to be left in the dust by the PlayStation and N64.....

I know that I am not very clear... but maybe I have made myself more clear...

LostSoul

As far as the snes programming goes, I think it's mainly to give experience on developing for a console, since it is quite a bit different than making a game for a pc. I haven't looked at FullSail, but I feel that I've learned more at DigiPen than I would have at a regular college (majoring in CS or similar).

------------------
Lich

Lich
Phew I almost missed this post. Thats what I get for not checking the forums in a while.