Advertisement

Teach me linux :)

Started by July 17, 2003 12:17 AM
6 comments, last by browny 21 years, 2 months ago
Well this is a complete newbie [for linux] speaking. Can someone please tell me how to restart and shutdown the X server and logon to the linux console [with X completely turned off]. Last night i was installing my video card driver ( nVidia ) and i had to logon to the linux console.. (not X server) and it really gave a hard time cause it took me almost 1 hour to figure out that there''s something called "inittab" file where you have to change the run-level to 3 and restart the machine. This would boot linux in console mode and only then i could install my drivers ...(phew!). Is there any way to change display modes ( resolution and blah blah ) without restarting X.
Z
ctrl-alt-backspace disables the x server. Or at least it is suppose to, on my linux machine it just resets the x server and I havent bothered figuring out why it doesnt turn off because it doesnt bother me.

"I may not agree with what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it."
--Voltaire
"Pfft, Facts! Facts can be used to prove anything!" -- Homer J. Simpson
Advertisement
good tutorial - http://linux-newbie.sunsite.dk/
You don''t really have to shutdown the X server to install the drivers, it just reduces the odds that you''ll run into unexpected behaviour, which you shouldn''t anyway (you do have to restart the X server afterward, of course).

A quick way to get to a terminal is to hit CTRL+ALT+F1 (you can change the F you use, normally F1 through F6 are terminals, with F7+ being X sessions). From a terminal, killing X can normally be done by killing any login manager (xdm, gdm, or kdm, normally; I do this with /etc/init.d/gdm stop, in Debian). No need to mess with inittab for something so simple .

quote: Original post by cmptrgear