🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Programming Books to Compliment a CS

Started by
4 comments, last by |S|ether 24 years, 4 months ago
Soon I''ll be off to college, next year around August. I''m going to pursue a CS degree. I''ve read the course descriptions, and have a good understanding of what they will teach me. Well, I''ve always been interested in games, and thought it would be fun to get some good practical learning while at school. But, they do not offer the... "Tricks and Trades," of game programming. Ok, this is the question. What books would you recommend I read that would complement a CS degree, by adding some gamming experience to my programming portfolio? Before you all answer, I would like to tell you about myself so you can have a little better understanding of what I mean. I started programming with an old Brain Board Control System my dad had left over in the basement when I was 13. Since then I''ve been learning on my own and taking classes. I''ve mostly concentrated on C++, with some BASIC and PASCAL, and some HTML crap (is HTML even considered a language????) I''ve taken a whole lot of classes, completing my C++ AP class my junior year, last year, and getting a 4 on the AP. I''ve recently started perusing windows programming. I really did not want to leave my protected mode, but windows and its 32 bits were encroaching. The book I''m using right now is "Windows Programming 5th Edition", it''s a Microsoft Press Book. What I''d like, is to get started learning about what this DirectX stuff is... really, it looks like gibberish when you read the SDK. I also want to learn about game design, you know, what goes into making a game. I''m sure it is different then advanced scientific computing. I looked around Amazon.com, and the list is huge. I then bought this program; teach yo