🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Why didnt flash just compile to javascript/webgl?

Started by
15 comments, last by kop0113 3 years, 5 months ago

Hi,

This is something silly that's been bothering me, I'm not a flash developer nor do I know anything really about flash except that it compiles to a specific flash format that needs a browser plugin to run, I am however experienced in webgl and in my current project I transpile into javascript/webgl.

As I grew up in the golden era of flash content and have fond memories of it it saddens me a little to see it die (even though I 100% agree with the reasons, all NPAPI plugins needed to die) but even though the flash plugin needed to die I don't see why flash itself needs to die with it, why cant it just compile to javascript and use use webgl? keeping all existing tools and projects intact. Simply requiring the flash developer to recompile. Did adobe not find it worth the effort or is there other reasons why that could not work? (ok I'm making it sound easy, There would be alot of work for adobe to do and I'm sure there would be nasty edge cases when compiling existing projects but considering the amount of flash content out there I don't see why adobe didn't go this route)

Advertisement

Why didnt flash just compile to javascript/webgl?

well that's because javascript/webgl are not binary compiled code, they're human readable programming languages just like flash was;

as u know, compilers convert human readable code to machine code or to virtual environment codes:

• c++ to asm (further steps take place to turn this into the actual targeted cpu instruction sets, x86, x64, amd, sse, avx, etc…)
  • java to javabyte code (to run in jvm using a jre)