🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Art style for web game GITar Hero

Started by
3 comments, last by Boxrib 7 years, 6 months ago
Hi. I'm coding browser-based educational game for teaching basics of Git. I'm a programmer and I always have a problem with the graphical style in my games. I'm trying to imitate Git branches in 3D graphic. When you type the appropriate command then there is a new sphere representing commit or a new tube representing branch. I like the style in which objects have outlines like in the Borderlands game so I wrote a shader for this.
Therefore, I want to ask do you have an idea for it to make these pipes and spheres look interesting?
How it looks like now:
[attachment=34232:GITarHero.jpg]
GUI will be adapted to the style of 3D graphic.
Advertisement

I think because if the subject matter it's good to try and keep it simple and modern looking- I think maybe if you made the pipes thinner and made it so the spheres were colored (and maybe have them glow if you want a bit of a pop?? But that may not work well with the shader) it would look neat!

I can see either all single colored or alternating color patterns looking great with this-

when it comes to art sometimes you just need to fiddle with things until it looks right.

Yeah mainly colors are what's needed - this is basically a flowchart, so it needs flowchart features. If there are different types of nodes you want some different geometric shapes, and if there are different types of connectors you could go with striped ones or square prisms instead of circular tubes.

Cayra is one of the prettier flowchart softwares I've seen if you want an example to look at.

http://i.utdstc.com/screen/windows/thumb/cayra-0-9-5-3.jpg