🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

2D Advice on color and general feeling

Started by
6 comments, last by Pagi87 7 years, 7 months ago

Hi, I am making a 2D top-down/side-view mixed game.

I am by no means an artist and am quite happy with my graphics, but I feel it lacks atmosphere, perhaps there is low contrast between things, maybe background should be less colorful and characters more.

Please tell me what you think should be improved. Thank you.

G7jskJ.pngxJYMpU.pngEnragedHiddenChital.gif

Advertisement

A thin lighter edge to simulate Fresnel is the only thing I can think of.

Like the style.

I would recommend having the camera phone in closer to the player sprite so that less of the area is visible at any given time (Like in the GIF you posted). I can't help but feel like knowing too much about the scene before actually exploring it might ruin the atmosphere. As for colors, I'm not so sure since I don't know what kind of feel you're going for. But for someone who isn't an artist (I can relate) you've done a great job so far.

I really like your style, still I have two thoughts:

1. technically you should change the light effect, it does not match the quality of the rest. (Play around with fading at the edge, adding a yellow touch, playing around with blending modes, using two decals (additive+blend ?) ).

2. Try to make your character more prominent. He is visual appealing and blends nicely in the background, but once you start playing your game, he and other NPCs might not get enough focus.

Hi. I think it's difficult to visually read the structure of the environment.

There are some things you can do to help with this: