🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How long would it take to get good at game art?

Started by
10 comments, last by DigitalNomad 7 years, 7 months ago

I would assume you must first be skilled at drawing before moving on to modeling and animation. Unfortunately, my art sucks. I attached a file showing how bad it is. I can see the world I have created in my head clear as day but I can't put it on paper. I assume I need technical knowledge on drawing, such as anatomy. I can only imagine how naive I seem in regards to the subject.

Advertisement

I am not really an artist, but to get good at anything you must practice. I am a professional Software Engineer but when I first started programming (over 16 years ago) I was not very good at it. I have improved considerably in programming from when I started, but I still learn new things about programming on a regular basis!

Your current drawing abilities do not seem that bad as a starting point. If you put in the time and practice your drawing you will improve.

I really like the site http://cgcookie.com/ for learning about game art. They have courses on Blender, Unity, traditional drawing, etc.

Also modeling and animation are really different skills from drawing. Having the ability to draw helps, but there are a wide variety of skills involved with creating 3d graphics. Generally concept arts create artwork that is passed off to the modelers, and then the modelers create models that are passed on to the people doing the rigs/animations. Some people have multiple roles and sometimes they are broken up into specializations.

You got to keep practicing. Keep drawing.
Be curious on your drawing mistakes (read some drawing technique books so you can try out something you haven't tried before).