🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for ideas on how to teach Game Design in a high school

Started by
159 comments, last by gameteacher 8 years, 2 months ago

Is this an active forum? Can I get pedagogical support here?

Advertisement

1. Is this an active forum?

2. Can I get pedagogical support here?

1. If you had looked at the posts, you would have seen that their dates are very recent. Several dated today, yesterday, the day before... So yes, it's active.

2. This is a game design forum. We don't have any teaching-oriented forums. But I'm game. What aspects of game design do you want to teach? Do you have experience designing games yourself?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Thanks. I saw there were recent posts but wasn't sure how many threads were getting responses.

I have no experience in game design. I am an art teacher who plans to teach it from a design-oriented aesthetics perspective. I have been told that game salad, scratch and unity are all free and (I assume) relatively easy to learn and use.

I plan to fit this new content (game design) into the curricular format I have been using, and I will be reading up on game design to gain knowledge on the field. I am wondering what others think would be the main things to teach in a game design curriculum, or better yet, where I might find a forum of game design teachers who could share curriculum with me.

I have been told that game salad, scratch and unity are all free and (I assume) relatively easy to learn and use.

Those are not Game Design. Those are game creation tools. If you want to teach those, learn how to use them first. Sounds like you are a Mac guy (as opposed to Windows), but that's normal for artists.