🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

develop profitable game alone?

Started by
2 comments, last by Luckless 8 years, 3 months ago

I'm in high school(I'm 15) and I live in Brasil, where join a game dev company would be very difficult(in BR there are few of them),while I don't join an undergraduate course I try to make games , my idea is make a game like Nelson Sexton, a self-taught 16 years old programmer, which made Unturned.I have two ways of development:

A)Make a game with almost no art or things that cost money, a game that I would like to play(going step by step).e.g.: start with the core of the game and gradually complex the game.

B)Search more about solo professional development and try to make a game profitable.

Which of the options above do you think is more appropriate.A profitable game would be better to me, but I guess it is very difficult to make it solo and I would like to understand the phrase:"make a game that people will play and not a game that you would like to play"

Advertisement

Can help you with you actual question as I'm trying to find something similar that works for me. A guy that I really like is ThinMatrix https://www.youtube.com/user/ThinMatrix
He doesn't seem like an experienced gamedev/programmer but It's really interesting to watch his devlog and his tutorials (even If you know the things that he explains).
So he does this while having youtube channel(probably some income coming for there) and a patreon page there people can support him.
And his way of doing indie gamedev looks aweosome.

Additionally