Advertisement

What is the future of the Game Dev. industry?

Started by June 18, 2015 05:11 PM
11 comments, last by Oluseyi 9 years, 3 months ago

Have we reached a creative standstill in game development? What is the future of this industry? Is it logical to think it as a career for the next 30 years or will the massive number of games being developed coupled with the repeating of themes and creation in games bring it to a dead end?

What are the other fields we can expand from here? And assuming that i am a well enough developer.. seeing the near future of the industry should i opt for developing my own games as an entrepreneur or start working to get a job in big firms like Ubisoft ?

I'm interested in why you think games would run out of places to go after thirty years, when the film industry has been productive for over a century and the classic creative fields (literature, art, music) for ten times that or even longer.

SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
Advertisement

People won't stop playing games I know Promit ; but seeing it as an economical activity; as competition will increase piracy will increase so will it be a viable source of good income? And most games today our just a rebuild of old and played out concepts with better graphics , I fear that gamers will one day get bored of this repetitiveness.

...should i opt for developing my own games as an entrepreneur or start working to get a job in big firms like Ubisoft ?

If you have a pessimistic outlook for a given market, then it's probably not a good idea to become an entrepreneur in that market. Your motivation, confidence, and vision will not be strong enough to compete.

Moving to the lounge.

The first way I viewed a game was as an interactive movie. You have still images, moving images, and then interactive moving images... What is next?